News Railways

PM Modi flags off nine trains connecting 11 states, Infra News, ET Infra


<p>Representative Image</p>
Representative Image

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday flagged off nine Vande Bharat trains virtually in a move that is expected to significantly improve rail connectivity to religious and tourist destinations across 11 Indian states.

“Speed, scale of infrastructure development is matching aspirations of 140 crore Indians,” PM Modi at the event he attended virtually. He added that popularity of Vande Bharat trains is rising constantly rising as over 1.11 crore passengers have already travelled in them.

According to an official statement, these new Vande Bharat trains will be the fastest on their respective routes, ensuring passengers save a considerable amount of time during their journeys.

“Now, 25 Vande Bharat trains running, now nine more added; that day is not far when these trains will connect all parts of country,” said PM Modi.

“Under PM Modi’s vision the railway sector has transformed in the past nine years… Several new facilities are being installed,” said Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw at the event.

Catch Live Updates of the Vande Bharat train launch here

The routes on which these trains will operate are as follows:

  1. Udaipur – Jaipur
  2. Tirunelveli-Madurai – Chennai
  3. Hyderabad – Bengaluru
  4. Vijayawada – Chennai (via Renigunta)
  5. Patna – Howrah
  6. Kasaragod – Thiruvananthapuram
  7. Rourkela – Bhubaneswar – Puri
  8. Ranchi – Howrah
  9. Jamnagar – Ahmedabad

Compared to the current fastest trains on these routes, the Vande Bharat trains are expected to significantly reduce travel times. For instance, the journey between Rourkela, Bhubaneswar, and Puri will be shortened by approximately three hours. Similarly, travel time between Hyderabad and Bengaluru will be reduced by over 2.5 hours, while the route from Tirunelveli to Madurai to Chennai will see a reduction of more than 2 hours.In addition, travel times between Ranchi and Howrah, Patna and Howrah, and Jamnagar and Ahmedabad will be shortened by approximately one hour. The journey between Udaipur and Jaipur will be trimmed by about half an hour.

Also Read: PM Modi to inaugurate nine new Vande Bharat trains connecting 11 states; here’s everything you need to know about these routes

Kasaragod – Thiruvananthapuram Vande Bharat Express:
Among the nine new Vande Bharat Express trains, Kerala is getting its second Vande Bharat Express due to the high passenger occupancy on this specific route. The Kasaragod – Thiruvananthapuram Vande Bharat Express will cover a distance of 574 kilometers and is expected to reduce travel time between the two cities to approximately 8 hours and 5 minutes.

This train will operate on all days except on Tuesdays when traveling from Kasaragod to Thiruvananthapuram and on Mondays when traveling in the opposite direction. The regular service for Kerala’s second Vande Bharat Express is set to commence on September 26, 2023.

  • Train Number 20631: Kasaragod to Trivandrum Central
  • Train Number 20632: Trivandrum Central to Kasaragod

As per the IRCTC schedule, the Vande Bharat Express departing from Kasaragod station will leave at 07:00 am and reach Trivandrum Central station at 3:05 pm. On the return journey, the Vande Bharat Express from Trivandrum Central will depart at 4:05 pm and arrive at Kasargod at 11:58 pm.

Patna-Howrah Vande Bharat:
This is also the second Vande Bharat Express for Bihar, following the introduction of the Patna-Ranchi Vande Bharat on June 27.

The Patna-Howrah Vande Bharat train is expected to cover a total distance of 535 km in approximately 6 hours and 30 minutes, operating at a normal speed of 90 km per hour. While the exact fare is being worked out by the railways, it is believed to be Rs 2,650 per passenger in the AC executive class and Rs 1,45 in AC chair car per passenger for a single journey with meals/breakfast.

Ranchi-Howrah Vande Bharat:
The Ranchi-Howrah Vande Bharat Express will travel via Tatanagar and will make stops at Muri, Purulia, Chandil, and Kharagpur. Meanwhile, the Patna-Howrah Vande Bharat Express will halt at Asansol and Jasidih.

Indore-Jaipur Vande Bharat:

Indore is also in line to receive another Vande Bharat Express, this time heading to Jaipur. This follows PM Modi’s previous inauguration of five Vande Bharat trains from Bhopal earlier this year.

Currently, Indore only has one Vande Bharat Express route to Bhopal, which has faced challenges in filling seats due to abundant travel alternatives between the two cities. In contrast, Bhopal enjoys Vande trains connecting it to Gwalior, Jabalpur, and New Delhi.


The Bengaluru-Hyderabad Vande Bharat Express will cover the 610 km distance in just eight and a half hours. The train will maintain an average speed of 71 kmph. A trial run is scheduled for Thursday.

The proposed schedule indicates that the train will depart from Kacheguda in Hyderabad at 5:30 am and reach Yeshwantpur around 2:00 pm. In the return journey, it will depart from Bengaluru at 2:45 pm and reach Hyderabad around 11:15 pm.

The train is expected to make stops at Mahabubnagar, Kurnool City, Anantapur, Dhone, and Dharmavaram. This new service will operate on all days except Wednesdays.

These new additions to the Vande Bharat Express network promise to revolutionize rail travel in India, providing a superior travel experience for passengers and enhancing connectivity between various states and important destinations.

Presently, 20 train services connect Bengaluru and Hyderabad, including superfast, Rajdhani, mail express, and others, with most taking 12 hours to reach Kacheguda from Bengaluru.

Tirunelveli – Chennai:
The Tirunelveli – Chennai Vande Bharat Express will set off from Tirunelveli Junction at 6 am The train is expected to reach Chennai at 1:50 pm. For the return journey, the train will depart from Chennai at 2:50 pm and arrive in Tirunelveli at 10:40 pm.

The newly inaugrated train will take less than eight hours to travel between Chennai and Tirunelveli, a significant improvement from the 11 to 12 hours it currently takes on regular express trains.

The train on this route will depart from Chennai at 5:30 am and will arrrive in Vijayawada at 12.10 p.m. It will make stops at Renigunta, Gudur, Nellore, Ongole, and Tenali. The return journey from Vijayawada will begin at 3.20 p.m. will bring passengers back to Chennai at 10 pm.

This journey is expected to cover a distance of 516.6 km in just six hours and 40 minutes.

(With inputs from Agencies)

  • Published On Sep 24, 2023 at 01:10 PM IST

Join the community of 2M+ industry professionals

Subscribe to our newsletter to get latest insights & analysis.

Get updates on your preferred social platform

Follow us for the latest news, insider access to events and more.


Source link