News Railways

PM to flag off nine Vande Bharat trains to be launched Sunday, ET Infra

As many as nine Vande Bharat train services are likely to be started on Sunday. New routes being added include Jaipur-Udaipur, Patna-Howrah, Ranchi-Howrah, Hyderabad-Chennai, Chennai-Tirunelveli, Indore-Jaipur, Puri-Rourkela, Jaipur-Chandigarh, and Jamnagar-Ahmedabad. There are already 25 Vande Bharat Express trains running across the country, and this count will soon increase to 34 after the addition of nine more routes on Sunday.

Bengal will get addition of two new Vande Bharat Express trains. These new train routes include Patna-Howrah and Ranchi-Howrah. As per reports the train will be equipped with 25 additional features.

Patna-Howrah Vande Bharat:

This is also the second Vande Bharat Express for Bihar, following the introduction of the Patna-Ranchi Vande Bharat on June 27.

The Patna-Howrah Vande Bharat train is expected to cover a total distance of 535 km in approximately 6 hours and 30 minutes, operating at a normal speed of 90 km per hour. While the exact fare is being worked out by the railways, it is believed to be Rs 2,650 per passenger in the AC executive class and Rs 1,450 in AC chair car per passenger for a single journey with meals/breakfast.

Ranchi-Howrah Vande Bharat:
The Ranchi-Howrah Vande Bharat Express will travel via Tatanagar and will make stops at Muri, Purulia, Chandil, and Kharagpur. Meanwhile, the Patna-Howrah Vande Bharat Express will halt at Asansol and Jasidih.

Indore-Jaipur Vande Bharat:

Indore is also in line to receive another Vande Bharat Express, this time heading to Jaipur. This follows PM Modi’s previous inauguration of five Vande Bharat trains from Bhopal earlier this year.

Currently, Indore only has one Vande Bharat Express route to Bhopal, which has faced challenges in filling seats due to abundant travel alternatives between the two cities. In contrast, Bhopal enjoys Vande trains connecting it to Gwalior, Jabalpur, and New Delhi.


The Bengaluru-Hyderabad Vande Bharat Express will cover the 610 km distance in just eight and a half hours. The train will maintain an average speed of 71 kmph. A trial run is scheduled for Thursday.

The proposed schedule indicates that the train will depart from Kacheguda in Hyderabad at 5:30 am and reach Yeshwantpur around 2:00 pm. In the return journey, it will depart from Bengaluru at 2:45 pm and reach Hyderabad around 11:15 pm.

The train is expected to make stops at Mahabubnagar, Kurnool City, Anantapur, Dhone, and Dharmavaram. This new service will operate on all days except Wednesdays.

Presently, 20 train services connect Bengaluru and Hyderabad, including superfast, Rajdhani, mail express, and others, with most taking 12 hours to reach Kacheguda from Bengaluru.

  • Published On Sep 21, 2023 at 04:53 PM IST

Join the community of 2M+ industry professionals

Subscribe to our newsletter to get latest insights & analysis.

Get updates on your preferred social platform

Follow us for the latest news, insider access to events and more.

Source link