Aviation News

Civilian aircraft allowed to use 39 of 53 military airfields, Infra News, ET Infra

NEW DELHI: Civilian aircraft have been progressively allowed over the years to operate from 39 of the 53 military airfields as well as nine advance landing grounds (ALGs) to enhance regional connectivity in the country.

“This joint user airfield scheme now gives civilian aircraft access to areas that were earlier considered remote.

There is no further request pending from the ministry of civil aviation with the IAF on this,” a defence official said on Tuesday.

The 39 airfields from where civilian flights now operate include Agra, Adampur, Allahabad, Awantipur, Bareilly, Bagdogra, Bhuj, Bidar, Car Nicobar, Chandigarh, Gorakhpur, Gwalior, Jammu, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Jorhat, Kargil, Leh, Pune, Silchar, Srinagar, Tezpur and Thanjavur. The nine ALGs, in turn, include Along, Walong, Tawang, Ziro and Mechuka in Arunachal Pradesh.

In June last year, IAF had announced the handing over of around 40 acres of defence land to the Airports Authority of India to develop civil terminals and necessary infrastructure at seven locations to facilitate the Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) in tune with the UDAN (ude desh ka aam nagarik) policy.

These airfields are Bagdogra, Darbhanga, Adampur, Utarlai, Sarsawa, Kanpur and Gorakhpur.

Source link

Leave a Comment