News Railways

PM Modi to Lay Foundation Stone for Redevelopment of 12 Railway Stations in AP Visakhapatnam, ET Infra


VISAKHAPATNAM: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lay the foundation stone for redevelopment of 12 railway stations under Amrit Bharat stations scheme and construction of four road overbridges (ROBs) in Waltair division on Monday through virtual mode.

All 12 stations will get new buildings, a second entry to the station, 12m-wide FOBs, and the best of amenities. Simhachalam, Araku, Parvathipuram, Bobbili, Kottavalasa, Chipurupalle, Srikakulam Road and Naupada stations in Andhra Pradesh would be redeveloped under the scheme. Apart from this, Parlakehmundi, Jeypore, Rayagada, and Koraput stations in Odisha, which too come under Waltair division, would be redeveloped.

Waltair divisional railway manager Saurab Prasad said the four ROBs in Vizianagaram and Srikakulam would provide connectivity to many villages and townships and improve business and trade.

He said 443.47 crore would be spent to redevelop the 12 stations, while 218.13 crore will be spent on the construction of four ROBs. All 12 stations would get better station accessibility, waiting areas, wider FOBs, lifts, escalators, modern kiosks, etc.

  • Published On Feb 25, 2024 at 10:24 AM IST

Join the community of 2M+ industry professionals

Subscribe to our newsletter to get latest insights & analysis.

Get updates on your preferred social platform

Follow us for the latest news, insider access to events and more.


Source link