News Power

Power projects worth Rs 2,723 crore launched in Uttar Pradesh

As many as 12 power substations and transmission centres were inaugurated in Uttar Pradesh, while foundation stones were laid for another five on the occasion of Electricity Festival and Energy Day held as part of the Ujjwal Bharat, Ujjwal Bhavishya.

The projects were inaugurated in the presence of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Saturday. The total cost of the projects is estimated at Rs 2723.20 crore.

Congratulating people on occasion, CM Yogi Adityanath said that under the visionary leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Uttar Pradesh has made a giant leap in power production and supply.

He said, “As many as 1.21 lakh villages, which have remained without electricity since independence, have been electrified in the last five years, while 1.43 crore free electricity connections have also been given to the needy people in the state under Saubhagya Yojana in the last five years.”

ALSO READ | If ruling party, Oppn work together, many problems will be solved: Yogi Adityanath

The chief minister further said that during previous governments there were four “VIP districts” in UP that received power while the rest 71 districts were denied electricity and the people there were left to struggle with darkness. “But, today there are no VIP districts as every district is a VIP district. In the last five years, people have been provided electricity without any discrimination. This is what we call democracy,” the CM pointed out.

According to the CM, the power supply is currently available for 23 to 24 hours in district headquarters, for 20-22 hours in the tehsil headquarters and for 16 to 18 hours in villages. He added, “Our aim in the next five years is to provide electricity to every household in the state to help achieve the goal of Ujjwal Bharat in the next 25 years as the country celebrates Amrit Mahotsava.”

CM Yogi also urged the Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation officials to strengthen the billing and connection system in order to make the energy department self-reliant.

The newly inaugurated transmission/distribution substations will directly benefit people of Rasra (Ballia), Babina (Jhansi), Malwan (Fatehpur), Ayodhya, Azizpur (Shahjahanpur), Dulhipar (Sant Kabirnagar), Mandhata (Pratapgarh), Bilochpura (Bagpat), Mirganj (Bareilly), Kailah (Chitrakoot) and Baghpat.

Foundation stone was laid for transmission/distribution substations of different capacities at Knowledge Park-5, Ecotech-8 & 10 and Jalpura, Greater Noida (Gautam Budh Nagar), Shohratgarh (Siddharthnagar).

— ENDS —

Source link